Junior Member Awards and Scholarships

Iowa Simmental Association Queen Contest

2022 Iowa Simmental Royalty: (left to right)
Princess Haley Dodge and Queen Sevanna Hol  


*Attention Past Iowa Simmental Queens & Princesses
Please fill out this form to update our records.


Are you looking for a leadership opportunity that will allow you to meet and work with talented individuals in the cattle industry?

Are you interested? If so, the Iowa Simmental Association is looking for eligible young ladies to become contestants for the Iowa Simmental Queen and Princess. In addition to this honor, the Iowa Simmental Queen will be awarded $250 and the Iowa Simmental Princess will be awarded $150 after their reign.

What are the qualifications? If you are between the ages of 16 and 21 years of age by January 1 of the current year, unmarried, an IJSA member, and knowledgeable about the Simmental breed, please consider this your invitation to apply. It is also required that you be able to attend the Beef Expo Simmental Sale, the Iowa Simmental Association Field Day and the Iowa State Fair Simmental Shows during your reign.

When and where is the contest held?  The contest will be held on Saturday, February 9th at 9:30 am. at Prairie Meadows Hotel in Altoona. This contest will coincide with the Iowa Beef Expo and the Iowa Simmental activities. The contest will conclude with the Queens luncheon at noon.

When is the new queen crowned?  The new Queen and Princess will be crowned during the banquet on Sunday evening February 10th at Walnut Center on the Iowa State Fairgrounds in Des Moines.

How do I enter?  To enter, send a resume stating your name, parents’ names, address, phone number, birthday, Simmental background, interests, activities, future plans, and a short essay on “Why I want to be the Iowa Simmental Queen or Princess.” Mail to Darci Mass, 1778 320th St., Adair, IA 50002 by January 20th of the current year. No late applicants will be accepted. If you would like additional information, contact Darci at 641-746-3339 or 641-740-0597 or email her at darcisue@yahoo.com and she can fill you in on all the exciting details! Prepare your resume today and join in the rewarding experience!


Prepare your résumé today and join in the rewarding experience!


Iowa Simmental Memorial Scholarship

2021 Iowa Simmental Memorial Scholarship Recipients: (left to right)
Bailey McKenna and Bryce Thompson with ISA President Kenny Scott



  • All applications must be mailed to the Iowa Simmental Association current President by May 15th of the current year. (2021 ISA President is Kenny Scott)

Applicants must provide or meet the following criteria:

  • Must be a senior in high school or post high school student who plans to attend a 2 or 4-year accredited school in the fall of the current year.
  • Must have been a paid Iowa Junior Simmental Association member for at least the last two years.
  • Must complete the application and additional requirements.
  • Must be present Saturday afternoon of Field Day, to participate in an oral interview. (If this does not work with your schedule please contact the ISA President to arrange another time)

The winners of the Iowa Simmental Memorial Scholarship will be announced during the Iowa Simmental Field Day Show and awarded the money during the Annual Iowa Simmental Assoc. Banquet at the Iowa Beef Expo the following February.  Winners must also send proof of enrollment in the accredited school order to receive the scholarship money to IJSA Treasurer Gina Long prior to the next year’s ISA Banquet. Upon receiving this enrollment verification, the scholarship money will be given to the recipients at the Banquet. Three (3) $1000 scholarships will be awarded.

Click here for the Scholarship Application:
ISA Memorial Scholarship Application


Sammi Long Memorial Showmanship Award

The 2nd Annual Sammi Long Memorial Showmanship Award was presented to Julianna Wise of Decorah at the 2021 Field Day by the IJSA Board.

Pictured with Julianna (second from right) are members of the Long family (left to right) Cody, (Julianna), Rob, Gina, Quentin, Tyler, and Abby.

“Be the reason someone smiles today!”


ASA Foundation Merit Awards

The Merit Award program is designed to provide recognition to junior members who have made “significant contributions to their community, home, family, school and the Simmental or Simbrah breeds of cattle.”  It’s a 3-level process beginning with the Bronze Award, then Silver, and finally Gold.  Iowa Juniors have a long history of receiving various levels of the Merit Awards.  For more information please see the link below or contact one of the IJSA advisors. 

All three levels of applications and other required information are due to AJSA (email to ajsa@simmgene.com) by June 1st.  Bronze recipients will be selected by ASA with assistance from the State Association, and will be announced and recognized at the National Classic, they receive a certificate and lapel pin.

Silver and Gold Applications are due June 1st to the ASA.  The ASA Foundation Board reviews the applications and the recipients are announced and recognized during the National Classic awards banquet.   Silver and Gold awards receive a certificate and scholarship money.   ISA/IJSA will recognize IJSA members who are Bronze, Silver and/or Gold recipients as  and those youth will be recognized via our website, newsletter, Facebook page, and at the ISA annual banquet the following year.

2021 Bronze Merit Award Recipients: Cole Miller & Belle Netolicky


2021 Silver Merit Award Recipients: Tyler Loudon (third from right)


2021 Gold Merit Award Recipient: Grace Greiman (fourth from left)


Click Here for more information and Merit Award applications.


The IJSA is compiling a list of past Iowa Junior members who received a Merit Award, if you were a recipient (or know someone who was), please contact IJSA Advisor Morgan Wadsworth with the year and award level so we can recognize you and other deserving past IJSA members.


County Simmental Awards

Youth who exhibited a Champion Simmental animal at their 2020 county fair were recognized at the 2021 Field Day in Afton.

Each year the Iowa Simmental & Iowa Junior Simmental Associations team up to recognize youth who exhibited a Champion registered Simmental animal at their local county fairs.  In 2020 93 Juniors from 536 counties showed 99 Champion Simmental Animals at their County Fairs! Pictured above are the youth who picked up their award at Field Day. Exhibitor’s information must be turned in to the IJSA advisors by the County Extension office, Fair office or other official by October 15th following their fair.  The recipients will receive a certificate from the ISA/IJSA and presented by their County Extension Office (at County Fall Awards Night if applicable) and will receive their award at the ISA Field Day the following year.  Please contact IJSA Advisor Morgan Wadsworth for more information.


This year’s recipients are:
2020 County Awards Recipients